Reiki and Spiritual Healing


The word Reiki consists of 2 parts; “Rei” meaning the universal, boundless aspect of energy and “Ki” representing the vital life force energy which flows through all living beings. Reiki is a hands on healing technique in which universal energy is transferred through the practitioner to the recepient, it profoundly assists healing by promoting balance and free flow of energy within the emotional and spiritual levels of the body. Once the internal layers of the body are recharged this enables the body to focus on healing the physical layer, our body.
Reiki recipients may experience a range of sensations during a treatment from warmth or heat, cold chills, tremors, tingling, pulsing, feeling heavy or light, each individual is unique and will gain whatever they require from the treatment at that time.
Reiki is an ancient tradition that was re-discovered by Japanese Dr. Mikao Usui when translating an ancient Sanskrit manuscript in the mid nineteenth century, practising the described technique he witnessed Reiki's ability to relieve stress, tension, low spirits, release tension from muscles calm.
Each individual who receives Reiki promotes relaxation, wellbeing and creates a sense of calm, it is a wonderful adjunct to all other forms of bodywork.

The 7 layers of the Aura and the Aura's purpose.

The aura is the energy field that surrounds the human body in all directions. It is three dimensional and consists of 7 layers, each of which are connected to a chakra. The aura varies in shape, size, color and texture which is an indication of your physical, emotional, mental and spiritual well being.

Each individual layer within the auric field has a different purpose and effect on the physical body. Listed below are the 7 layers of the auric field, the chakra associated with each one and the effect it has on the physical body:

Layer of auric field Associated Chakra Effect on physical body

The etheric body

Base or root chakra

Assists in the recovery from illness, physical organs, blood supply

The emotional body

Sacral chakra

Moods, emotions, feelings

The mental body

Solar plexus chakra

Mental activity, thoughts, wisdom, intellect, analysis

The astral body

Heart chakra

Love, compassion, sensitivity to self and others

The etheric template body

Throat chakra

Communication, expression

The celestial body

Brow/Third eye

Divine love, spiritual being

The ketheric template or causal body


Totality, rebirthing, past life memories

Return to top of page

Everyone and everything has its own unique energy system and the way it interacts and works will vary from one person or thing to another. An aura can be weakened or strengthened in various ways which can have a great effect on how people perceive an individual or object.

Positive health factors such as proper diet, exercise and fresh air are strengthening to the auric field. The aura can also be strengthened through meditation, music, nature, fragrances (incense/oils) or a quartz crystal or stone.

Lack of exercise, lack of fresh air, improper diet, abuse of alcohol, drugs and tobacco create a weakening of the aura. The aura is also affected by emotional and mental states, emotional trauma, continued stress, mental disorders or imbalances, worry, fear and other negative emotions and attitudes. A weakened aura results in energy drains causing tiredness and physical health problems.

It is through the aura that an individual can sense past or present issues, tension, love, sensitivity, etc. which can have an affect on everyday life. This affects the synergy between individuals and is the reason why some people “hit it off” when they first meet, as opposed to “not hitting it off”. The energy within the aura can be sensed, felt or seen.

Moderation in all things is beneficial to keeping the aura vibrant. Through the elements of nature or through healing, the aura can be strengthened, balanced and cleansed of negative energies.

The 7 Chakras and their position with the body.

Chakras are vital energy centres which connect the auric body to the physical body. They are vertically aligned running from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. Chakras can be visualized as cone shaped energy centres over the body.

There are seven charkas and each one stores information that is used by our body to make decisions throughout our lives.Each charka relates to a different emotion, color, vibration and function which provide information about a person when connecting to their personal guide or spiritual universe.


Chakra Colour Comments/Function
Base/Root Red

Location: At the base of the spine (coccyx)
Function: Associated with the material world and physical directions. It relates to motivation, the will to live, grounding, decision making regarding physical directions and adrenalin.
Out of balance:Inability to trust nature, depression, indecisiveness and problems in moving forward.
Areas it controls in the body: Spinal column, kidneys, stress responses, feet and legs.

Sacral Orange

Location:Below the naval (lower abdomen)
Function:Associated with relationships and sexuality. It relates to desire, creativity, pleasure, reproduction, money, feelings, and all types of physical connections between the self and others.
Out of balance:Unsure, unstable in emotional, sexual and relationship matters, inability to express feelings, crying.
Areas it controls in the body:Reproductive system and lower abdomen. Gonads Gland

Solar Plexus Yellow

Location:In the central hollow just below the rib cage (solar plexus)
Function:Associated with Mentality. It relates to the ego, personality, self esteem and brings thoughts into feelings
Out of balance:Not knowing what you want, indigestion, anger, lack of confidence, insecure
Areas it controls in the body:Stomach, liver, gall bladder, upper abdomen. Pancreas gland

Heart Green Location: At the centre of the chest midway between the two nipples (heart)
Function: Associated with identity. It relates to self image, love, compassion, forgiveness, who am I?
Out of balance: Cannot accept love given by others, insecure, no self respect
Areas it controls in the body:Heart, blood, vagus nerve, circulatory system, arms, chest, hands. Thymus gland
Throat Blue

Location: In the hollow at the base of the neck (throat)
Function: Associated with Communication and expression for feelings. It relates to will and self expression, truth and expression of truth
Out of balance:Inability to express or communicate, grief
Areas it controls in the body:Bronchial, vocal, lungs, ears, respiratory system. Parathyroid and Thyroid gland

Brow/Third eye Indigo

Location:In the centre of the forehead between and behind the eyebrows (brow)
Function:Associated with insight. It relates to intuition, the mind, compassion, dreams, insight, imagination and wisdom.
Out of balance: Not able to see inside self, only able to see the obvious
Areas it controls in the body: Lower brain, eyes, nose, nervous system. Pituitary gland

Crown Violet and White

Location: On the top of the head (crown)
Function: Associated with the Higher self. It relates to the wisdom gained in all past lives plus this life, spirituality, will, knowing, understanding, oneness and bliss.

*References: How to see and read the aura, course notes.

Return to top of page